The university bestowed honorary degrees to philanthropist and higher education champion Sandra Irving and Secretary General of Amnesty International Canada Alex Neve.
Valedictorian Shania Maguire still remembers her first day of class. 

“I had never felt so lost and overwhelmed before that moment,” she told her fellow graduates at spring convocation. “I am back in that moment again. We have no guidelines as to what we must do anymore. Right now, you might be feeling overwhelmed at what is to come, but try to take a step back and realize that the freedom to write your own chapters in your own book will be the best thing to happen to you.”

Maguire, who hails from Saint John, NB, spoke to the 350 graduates who received their Bachelors of Applied Arts, Arts, and Social Work.

She told them their future was theirs to write, and she knew they would all accomplish great things.

“No matter what your choice, I know you are all going to succeed as St. Thomas has prepared you for anything that comes your way. St. Thomas University has instilled a tremendous fire in all of us, we have a new passion for life and a desire to make the world we live in a better place for everyone. You are some of the most amazing critical thinkers that this world will ever encounter, and tomorrow is the day that you are free to decide how your new chapter begins.”

The university also bestowed honorary degrees to Secretary General of Amnesty International Canada Alex Neve and philanthropist and higher education champion Sandra Irving.

Neve delivered the convocational address. He challenged the class of 2017 to use their voices to make a difference in the world.

“Our human family needs you. It needs you to march from this hall and this time of achievement, ready and determined to be a voice and a force for respecting, safeguarding and promoting dignity, respect and tolerance in our communities, in our nation, and around the world,” Neve said.
“Your dreams, your example, and your efforts to fashion a more just world will truly matter in the years to come.”

Medal Winners

Governor General’s Medal: Kailey DeLucry, (Honours in Psychology) 
University Medal for Arts: Hannah Anstey, (Honours in Psychology)
University Medal for Social Work: Andrea Moody (Bachelor of Social Work)