English Language and Literature

English Department Announcements

2016-2017 English Prizes Awarded


 Congratulations to the student winners of prizes for high achievement in English courses, Creative Writing, and Drama:


 Prize for English in 1st Year

Sydney Hallett


Edwin Flaherty Prize for English in 2nd Year

Melissa Moore


Prize for English in 3rd Year

Hannah Zamora


Essay Prize for English in 3rd Year

Alexis McCormack


Bishop Hill Prize for English in 4th Year

Isabelle Agnew


Creative Writing


Robert Clayton Casto Prize in Poetry:

Alexis McCormack for a strong overall submission


David Adams Richards Prize in Prose:

Luke Beirne for his short story “Models”


David Velensky Prize in Creative Writing:

Monica Furness for her short story “Sea Glass Heaven”




Ted Daigle Memorial Drama Award:

Hannah Blizzard and Kira Chisholm


“Hannah and Kira have shown remarkable development in the Department of English acting courses and seminar and lecture courses, as well as in their work as actors with Theatre St. Thomas. The English faculty congratulates Hannah and Kira for their hard work and dedication to Drama and English at STU!” – Dr. Robin Whittaker, Drama Concentration Advisor.